The I.M. Rosenzweig Junior Investigator Award Winners​

The I.M. Rosenzweig Junior Investigator Award was established to encourage researchers to maintain and enhance their interest in PF research during the early stages of their academic career. 

The Albert Rose Established Investigator Award Winners

Created to allow established investigators to explore novel, innovative areas of research, the Albert Rose Established Investigator Award provides critical support to the development of new projects, and enables the investigator to pursue additional funding through the National Institutes of Health or other agencies. Two $50,000 grants are awarded per annual cycle, disbursed over a two-year period.

Konstantinos-Dionysios Alysandratos, MD, PhD

Apr 19, 2021, 14:56 PM
Title : Konstantinos-Dionysios Alysandratos, MD, PhD
First Name : Konstantinos-Dionysios
Middle Name :
Last Name : Alysandratos, MD, PhD
Position :
University : Trustees of Boston University, BU Medical Campus
Proposal Title : Utilizing a pluripotent stem cell model system to unravel the pathogenesis of pulmonary fibrosis
Proposal Funder :

Dr. Alysandratos obtained his medical degree and doctoral degree in Immunopharmacology from the University of Athens in Greece. He completed Internal Medicine training at the University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas TX, followed by clinical fellowships in Sleep and Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine at Boston University, where he was recruited as a physician-scientist at the rank of Assistant Professor in Medicine.

Under the mentorship of Dr. Darrell Kotton at the Center for Regenerative Medicine of Boston University and Boston Medical Center, Dr. Alysandratos is developing a pluripotent stem cell (PSC) model to study the role of alveolar type 2 (AT2) cell dysfunction in the pathogenesis of pulmonary fibrosis, exemplified by interstitial lung diseases that are associated with surfactant protein-C mutations.

Dr. Alysandratos has received many honors and awards, including the Basic Science Award from the American Lung Association, an Abstract Scholarship and Fellows Track Symposium Award from the American Thoracic Society, and a Research Prize and Award from the Boston University Clinical and Translational Science Institute. As a resident he became a voted member of the AΩA Medical Honor Society.