PFF Research Fund: Grants

The PFF Research Fund supports research that will ultimately lead to successful therapies for pulmonary fibrosis (PF). These awards, the I.M. Rosenzweig Young Investigator Award and the Albert Rose Established Investigator Awards, support projects that offer a high likelihood of improving the understanding of pulmonary fibrosis (IPF) in the following areas: basic science, translational research, clinical medicine/research, and social science/quality of life.

Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF) is a progressive and ultimately fatal lung disease that affects approximately 200,000 individuals in the United States (US) and 38,000 individuals in the European Union (EU). The annual mortality is estimated to be 40,000 in the US alone, with an average survival of 2–3 years following diagnosis. There is no cure for IPF. There is no FDA-approved treatment for IPF in the US and limited therapeutic options available for individuals with mild-to-moderate IPF in the EU, Canada, and Asia.

About the Awards:

  • I.M. Rosenzweig Young Investigator Awards – Two awarded per grant cycle in the amount of $50,000 to be given over two years. This award category was established to encourage young investigators (researchers within 5 years of completion of their formal training) to maintain and enhance their interest in PF research during the early stages of their academic career.
  • Albert Rose Established Investigator Awards – Two awarded per grant cycle in the amount of $50,000 to be given over two years for established investigators to explore preliminary innovative areas of research that may not yet be eligible for an NIH grant.

Central to the success of the PFF Research Fund is the understanding that grant approval decisions are peer-reviewed by a committee of experts in the field. The primary objective of the peer-review process is to ensure that the most appropriate grants, based on originality and scientific merit, are selected for awards. Applications will be scored by the based on their scientific merit, novelty, and responsiveness to the specific purpose of each award category.

The Foundation’s Research Advisory Committee, comprised of a wide-ranging group of international experts, administers the peer-review process. The chairman of the Research Advisory Committee is Jesse Roman, MD, Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of Louisville (Louisville, KY).

2014 Grant Cycle

The call for letters of intent (LOI) for the 2014 grant cycle opened on October 17, 2013. All submissions must be received by November 18 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time. The LOI review process will take place in December and notifications of acceptance to submit a full application will occur in January 2014. Full grant proposals from investigators will be due mid-February. Review will take place in May and award recipients will be notified in June 2014. Grant recipients will be acknowledged at the PFF's Breathe Benefit annual dinner in the fall of 2014.

Submit a Letter of Intent

Read about the 2013 award recipients.

Read about the 2012 award recipients.